New Year, New Books, New Events

With 2018 underway, our clients are releasing new books and speaking at new events. Here’s their latest news:

BOOK RELEASES

Harper Lee's typewriter by Curious City
Harper Lee’s typewriter, created by Curious City for ALABAMA SPITFIRE

Bethany Hegedus‘ highly acclaimed picture book biography ALABAMA SPITFIRE: THE STORY OF HARPER LEE AND TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD (Balzer & Bray, Jan 23, 2018) is available for pre-order. When ordered through BookPeople in Austin, you’ll receive a signed copy by Bethany and illustrator Erin McGuire along with a beautiful handprinted serigraph of Harper Lee’s typewriter, handmade by Curious City. Order by Feb 10, 2018 to guarantee a signed copy.

Erica S. Perl’s middle grade novel All Three Stooges was released on Jan. 9, called “An unforgettable coming-of-age story about comedy, loss, and friendship for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Gary D. Schmidt” by publisher Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers. “Spoiler alert: This book is not about the Three Stooges. It’s about Noah and Dash, two seventh graders who are best friends and comedy junkies. That is, they were best friends, until Dash’s father died suddenly and Dash shut Noah out. Which Noah deserved, according to Noa, the girl who, annoyingly, shares both his name and his bar mitzvah day.”

Illustrator Larry Day‘s newest picture book with Kay Winters, VOICES FROM THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, released Jan. 10. From the creators of VOICES FROM THE OREGON TRAIL and COLONIAL VOICES comes an unflinching story of two young runaway slaves on the Underground Railroad, told in their voices and those who helped and hindered them

AWARDS AND HONORS

What Girls Are Made OfElana K. Arnold’s YA novel WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, won the SCBWI Golden Kite Award for Young Adult Fiction.

The sequel to Elana’s A BOY CALLED BAT also has been selected as a Junior Library Guild book! BAT AND THE WAITING GAME will be on shelves on March 27 and is available for pre-order.

Mitali Perkins has received a 2018 Walter Honor from We Need Diverse Books for her YA novel YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR.

APPEARANCES

Melanie Crowder spoke of the story behind her recent YA novel AN UNINTERRUPTED VIEW OF THE SKY on Colorado Public Radio on Jan. 12.

Our clients will be at Denver’s first Children’s Festival of Stories! The event, which was designed and organized by The Booking Biz Associate Agent Sarah Azibo, will bring more than 30 authors and illustrators to the city center to engage with young readers, parents, librarians and educators March 16-18. Activities include storytimes, readings, illustration demonstrations and unique creation stations for attendees. An Evening of Story will be held for librarians and educators, and a World of Workshops offered for aspiring artists and writers of all ages. Among the speakers are Melanie Crowder, Pablo Cartaya, Elaine VickersMiriam Busch, Sarah AronsonAmmi-Joan Paquette and Emily Arrow, who will be offering special rate school visits in the area March 12th-16. Visit www.denvercfos.com for more festival information and contact The Booking Biz to arrange a school visit with these presenters.

 

 

2018 Bookish Resolutions

The new year has started, and at The Booking Biz, we hope 2018 is bringing you all good things–including lots of wonderful books!

A new year is also a good time for changes, resolutions, and making the world better. Books can help.

Inspired by their own books, our clients are sharing their own resolutions. What are yours?

Maybe a FoxKathi Appelt, author of MAYBE A FOX

My New Year resolution is to consider more fully the angels in my life and to focus on them. In fact, focus is going to be my “word of the year.” In writing and in life.

Sarah Aronson, author of THE WISH LIST

The problem with resolutions is that I can never choose just one! Just like the fairy godmothers of THE WISH LIST, I am going to have a year filled with kindness, determination, and gusto. I want to share the sparkle–with readers and writers. I hope that 2018 will be a year filled with lots of happy beginnings, middles, and of course ever afters!

 

Molly B. Burnham, author of the TEDDY MARS series

My resolution is to open myself up to my full purpose, potential, and possibility, just like the dog in my upcoming book, who learns that she is capable of so much more than she thinks a dog can do.

Miriam Busch, author of RAISIN, THE LITTLEST COW

My New Year’s resolution? Perspective, perseverance, and play!

Voices From the UndergroundLarry Day, illustrator of VOICES FROM THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD

My New Year Resolution is to support teachers and librarians for their hard work and empowering children with the courage and freedom to explore new subjects.

Janet Fox, author of THE CHARMED CHILDREN OF ROOKSKILL CASTLE

My New Year resolution is to help all children believe that love will win.

Liz Garton Scanlon, author of ANOTHER WAY TO CLIMB A TREE and the upcoming KATE, WHO TAMED THE WIND

I resolve to get outside and love the Earth like she loves me!

Bethany Hegedus, author of the upcoming ALABAMA SPITFIRE: THE STORY OF HARPER LEE AND TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

My 2018 resolution is to #beaspitfire, sharing with kids and adults how we can all live lives of our own design. How we can all tell the stories we were born to tell. And that, most of all, childhood matters.

Dianna Hutts Aston, author of A BUTTERFLY IS PATIENT

My resolution today and every day is to inspire children to seek their dreams with courage and perseverance…and along the way, stop often to smell the wildflowers, listen to the trees, and grow strong on the fruits of the earth.

Uma Krishnaswami, author of THE GRAND PLAN TO FIX EVERYTHING

Two-fold New Year resolution: 1) to read my draft as if I were a stranger to it, and 2) revise like a sculptor looking for the story’s hidden shape.

Lindsey Lane, author of EVIDENCE OF THINGS NOT SEEN

My New Year Resolution is to live into the mystery where anything can happen. Anything.

Feral NightsCynthia Leitich Smith, author of the FERAL series

My New Year’s resolution is to lift up and empower new and underrepresented voices.

Carmen Oliver, author of BEARS MAKE THE BEST READING BUDDIES

This January, my husband and I jetted away for a couple days to explore the beauty of Santa Fe, New Mexico, and while exploring its wonder, I was reminded how important it is to take time to move and as Georgia O’Keefe said, “take time to look.” In 2018, I plan to make more time to do both and I invite you to do the same. My mom reminds me from time to time to stop and smell the roses, and this year, I’m going to do lots of moving, looking, and smelling. Thanks, Georgia and Mom.

Ammi-Joan Paquette, author of TRAIN OF LOST THINGS

My New Year’s Hope is that all the lost be found and that all the found be cherished–this year and beyond.

Penny Parker Klostermann, author of A COOKED-UP FAIRY TALE

My New Year Resolution is to do all I can to encourage children to read happily ever after.

Mitali Perkins, author of YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR

My resolution is to cross borders of race, class, education, gender, politics, religion, and age to try and bring the distant near.

Another Kind of HurricaneTamara Ellis Smith, author of ANOTHER KIND OF HURRICANE and her upcoming ROSIE’S SHOES

My two New Year Resolutions are to make friends with people who seem to be different from me [like the characters in ANOTHER KIND OF HURRICANE] and to find the light inside myself so I can really know who I am, and to help other people find their own light too [like the characters ROSIE’S SHOES].

Caroline Starr Rose, author of RIDE ON, WILL CODY!

My resolution for this year is “Ride On!” When things are great, keep on trucking. When things are challenging, know they can’t last.

Javaka Steptoe, author/illustrator of RADIANT CHILD: THE STORY OF YOUNG ARTIST JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT

My New Year Resolution is to find more ways to be party of positive social change.

Paper Chains by Elaine VickersElaine Vickers, author of PAPER CHAINS

My New Year Resolution is to always remember that family, friendship, and stories are what link us all together.

Dianne White, author of GOODBYE BRINGS HELLO, which comes out on June 26

My wish for the New Year is to be brave and grateful, to “open the door” to new adventures and to encourage others to do the same.

Meg Wiviott, author of PAPER HEARTS

My New Year’s resolution is to strive to be brave and kind.

Our Clients Hit Nerd Camp and More News

Who’s going to Nerd Camp? If you haven’t been before, Nerd Camp is a two-day education conference, with the second day focusing on literacy. Nerd Camp is in Michigan July 10-11 and we’re thrilled that so many of our clients will be there. Make sure you say hi to them: Continue reading “Our Clients Hit Nerd Camp and More News”

2017 Summer Reading List

The sun is shining, birds are singing, and summer is almost here. So there’s only one question we’re trying answer: What are we going to read?

We at The Booking Biz are always looking for new books to read and recommend. That’s why we’ve compiled this list of the books we’re most excited about this summer. Continue reading “2017 Summer Reading List”

10 Tips For Amazing Author Visits

Author visits at schools and libraries are special days for the children in your community. They show students they too can achieve their dreams. Author visits validate the lessons teachers and librarians like you tell to kids who are always skeptical. And author visits bring books and topics to life, like writing, art, science and civil rights.

All the authors and illustrators at The Booking Biz have been vetted by us to give the best presentations at schools and libraries. But what happens before the speaker arrives is also important to the success of an author visit. Here are 10 ways to make sure your next author will be the best.

Continue reading “10 Tips For Amazing Author Visits”