Client Books Honored By Coretta Scott King, Ezra Jack Keats and Geisel Awards

From new imprints to appearances to major award wins, our clients are keeping busy. Read on…

AWARDS & LISTS

MUDDY: THE STORY OF BLUES LEGEND MUDDY WATERSKwame Alexander‘s OUT OF WONDER (co-written by Chris Colderly and Marjorie Wentworth) won the Coretta Scott King Illustrator award for illustrations by Ekua Holmes. Bravo to all on this gorgeous book of poetry!

Evan Turk‘s picture book MUDDY: THE STORY OF BLUES LEGEND MUDDY WATERS won the Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Award. We’re singing Evan’s praise! Congrats, Evan.

At this year’s 2018 ALA awards, Salina Yoon‘s MY KITE IS STUCK AND OTHER STORIES (A Duck, Duck, Porcupine! Book) took home a Geisel Honor. Congratulations, Salina!

VOYA Magazine included BLOOMING AT THE TEXAS SUNRISE MOTEL by Kimberly Willis Holt on its Top Shelf Fiction for Middle School Readers 2017 list.

NEW BOOKS

Kwame Alexander has launched his own imprint under publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. We look forward to seeing more innovative and out-of-the-box stories from his authors and illustrators. Both Kwame and The Booking Biz client Lamar Giles will have books on the debut spring 2019 list. Congrats, Kwame & Lamar! Read the New York Times article announcing the big news!

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a MockingbirdWe’re excited for Bethany Hegedus and her new picture book ALABAMA SPITFIRE: THE STORY OF HARPER LEE AND TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, which is a #1 New Release in Children’s Literary Biographies on Amazon! Bethany has launched #BeASpitifire campaign in honor of Harper Lee. Meet many kidlit creators and hear how they are spitfires.

Bethany Hegedus and ALABAMA SPITFIRE were also featured in the Austin Statesman newspaper.

APPEARANCES

Javaka Steptoe visited Austin’s Blanton Museum of Art. Discover how he explores the role of art in picture books with this thought provoking article in PW’s Shelftalker with BookPeople’s Meghan Dietsche Goel. The author/illustrator of RADIANT CHILD said, “Great art creates places for people to enter into it.” Check out the YouTube video.

Carmen Oliver - Path to PromotionCarmen Oliver is excited to be a part of the six-week online book publicity course Path to Promotion for authors/illustrators (published and pre-published) looking to make a splash in the school and library market and to help each author tap into their authentic selves in their programming/marketing. Registration opens March 1, 2018.

Additionally, Carmen Oliver will be teaching again at the workshop Crafting Successful Author Visits April 29 to May 4 at Highlights Foundation along side faculty members Peter Jacobi, Jan Cheripko and break-out star author Andrea Loney (who attended last year’s workshop and has soared to success). During the workshop attendees put together their own school visit program then take that program into a school and present supported by the faculty. Testimonials from last year’s attendees include: “The synergy and positive energy from three faculty members were almost unbelievable,” and, “The workshop was small and intimate, which kept me focused and allowed the instructors to do a deep-dive into the information.”

New Year, New Books, New Events

With 2018 underway, our clients are releasing new books and speaking at new events. Here’s their latest news:

BOOK RELEASES

Harper Lee's typewriter by Curious City
Harper Lee’s typewriter, created by Curious City for ALABAMA SPITFIRE

Bethany Hegedus‘ highly acclaimed picture book biography ALABAMA SPITFIRE: THE STORY OF HARPER LEE AND TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD (Balzer & Bray, Jan 23, 2018) is available for pre-order. When ordered through BookPeople in Austin, you’ll receive a signed copy by Bethany and illustrator Erin McGuire along with a beautiful handprinted serigraph of Harper Lee’s typewriter, handmade by Curious City. Order by Feb 10, 2018 to guarantee a signed copy.

Erica S. Perl’s middle grade novel All Three Stooges was released on Jan. 9, called “An unforgettable coming-of-age story about comedy, loss, and friendship for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Gary D. Schmidt” by publisher Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers. “Spoiler alert: This book is not about the Three Stooges. It’s about Noah and Dash, two seventh graders who are best friends and comedy junkies. That is, they were best friends, until Dash’s father died suddenly and Dash shut Noah out. Which Noah deserved, according to Noa, the girl who, annoyingly, shares both his name and his bar mitzvah day.”

Illustrator Larry Day‘s newest picture book with Kay Winters, VOICES FROM THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, released Jan. 10. From the creators of VOICES FROM THE OREGON TRAIL and COLONIAL VOICES comes an unflinching story of two young runaway slaves on the Underground Railroad, told in their voices and those who helped and hindered them

AWARDS AND HONORS

What Girls Are Made OfElana K. Arnold’s YA novel WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, won the SCBWI Golden Kite Award for Young Adult Fiction.

The sequel to Elana’s A BOY CALLED BAT also has been selected as a Junior Library Guild book! BAT AND THE WAITING GAME will be on shelves on March 27 and is available for pre-order.

Mitali Perkins has received a 2018 Walter Honor from We Need Diverse Books for her YA novel YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR.

APPEARANCES

Melanie Crowder spoke of the story behind her recent YA novel AN UNINTERRUPTED VIEW OF THE SKY on Colorado Public Radio on Jan. 12.

Our clients will be at Denver’s first Children’s Festival of Stories! The event, which was designed and organized by The Booking Biz Associate Agent Sarah Azibo, will bring more than 30 authors and illustrators to the city center to engage with young readers, parents, librarians and educators March 16-18. Activities include storytimes, readings, illustration demonstrations and unique creation stations for attendees. An Evening of Story will be held for librarians and educators, and a World of Workshops offered for aspiring artists and writers of all ages. Among the speakers are Melanie Crowder, Pablo Cartaya, Elaine VickersMiriam Busch, Sarah AronsonAmmi-Joan Paquette and Emily Arrow, who will be offering special rate school visits in the area March 12th-16. Visit www.denvercfos.com for more festival information and contact The Booking Biz to arrange a school visit with these presenters.

 

 

End of Year Good News

It has been a tremendous year of awards and recognition for all of our clients. But 2017 isn’t over yet! Here’s some more good news…

HONORS & AWARDS

Uninterrupted View of the SkyMelanie Crowder’s YA novel AN UNINTERRUPTED VIEW OF THE SKY and Elana K. Arnold’s WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF have been named Kirkus Best Teen Book of 2017.

Young adult novel YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR by Mitali Perkins is a Horn Book Best Book of 2017.

MUDDY: THE STORY OF BLUES LEGEND MUDDY WATERS, written by Michael Mahin and illustrated by Evan Turk, was named one of NPR’s Best Books of 2017.

BOOK DEALS

Larry Day
Larry Day

Larry Day will illustrate Bob Raczka’s picture book BEWARE!, about a bear and a bee who meet on uncertain terms but ultimately become friends. The story is told in words made up of only the five letters in the title. Publication is set for fall 2019 from editor Karen Boss at Charlesbridge.

Congratulations to all our speakers on their amazing work in 2017. We look forward to continuing to represent them next year.

Best Books & Cover Reveals

With end-of-year book celebrations being announced, our clients are getting lots of love for their books. And we’re got new books to look forward to.

LISTS AND AWARDS

Chicken In MittensFour books by our clients are on the Chicago Public Library’s Best of the Best Books of 2017 list! Congratulations to CHICKEN IN MITTENS written by Adam Lehrhaupt, BOB, NOT BOB written by Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick, THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA by Pablo Cartaya, and WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF by Elana K. Arnold. The Best of the Best lists represent their choices for the year’s most outstanding titles, books of exceptional quality for a diverse, city-wide readership.

Elana K. Arnold’s WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF and Mitali Perkins’ YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR are on the New York Public Library “Best Books for Teens” list!

Melanie Crowder’s THREE PENNIES and Pablo Cartaya’s THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA are on New York Public Library’s “Best Books for Kids” list!

MUDDY: THE STORY OF BLUES LEGEND MUDDY WATERS, written by Michael Mahin and illustrated by Evan Turk is on the Best Books of 2017 Lists for the New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, and the Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature. It also received a Parents’ Choice Gold Award for 2017.

Teddy Mars Almost a World Record BreakerMolly B. Burnham’s TEDDY MARS: ALMOST A WORLD RECORD BREAKER and Elana K. Arnold’s A BOY CALLED BAT have been nominated for the 2019 Grand Canyon Reader Award through the Arizona Library Association!

COVER REVEALS

The popular blog Mr. Schu Reads has showcased the covers of a number of new books coming from our clients.

Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick wrote a guest post for the cover reveal of their new picture book DEAR SUBSTITUTE, which honors “the unsung of the unsung.”

For the cover reveal of TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE: HISTORIES AND MYSTERIESAmmi-Joan Paquette, who  co-authored book with Laurie Ann Thompson, finished Mr. Schu’s sentences, like:

The cover for Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries took my breath away! The whole Walden team have outdone themselves, and I love the perfect mix of factual, mysterious, and just plain silly…”

 

Kudos to Our Clients

What Girls Are Made OfWe’re honored to represent TWO authors recognized in the National Book AwardsElana K. Arnold‘s WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF was a finalist for Young People’s Literature and Mitali Perkins‘ YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR was on the longlist. They’ve both been busy getting lots of other awards attention—along with our other clients. Continue reading “Kudos to Our Clients”

Movies, Stars & Champions

Rickshaw GirlThe best movies are based on books, which is why we’re so excited for the movie version of Mitali Perkins‘ novel RICKSHAW GIRL, which is scheduled for release in 2018! The book tells the story of Naima, who uses her talented painter of Bangladeshi alpana patterns to help her family earn money.

Our clients have lots more amazing news… Continue reading “Movies, Stars & Champions”

Rainy Day Reading List

Ahh, fall. The weather will soon be turning colder. Heaters will come on. And rain and snow will keep us cuddling up inside. All we need is a mug of hot cocoa and a good book to read.

When the rain hits us at The Booking Biz, we like to curl up with the books we’ve read and loved, the stories we enjoy living in over and over again. We thought you might be looking for books like that as we move into the fall. Books with characters you want to hug and worlds you want to live in—even the harsh worlds because they help us find hope for our own.

Here are some of our favorite books from our clients. How many have you read? We recommend getting them all…because you never know when another rain storm will hit. Continue reading “Rainy Day Reading List”